Soulsearcher’s dirge

What is the etiquette

For parting with a core piece of your soul

The agenda

For releasing your anchor

I need to know the process

Of living without your muse

Show me the policy

On how to conduct my bereavement

Is it appropriate

To wail and rip my clothes

Or is it only proper

To have a stiff upper lip and straight back

Does it matter

If my soul is shattered

A core piece

Buried 6 feet under

The expectation to throw a handful of dirt

Instead of jumping in to end this facade

Surely you wouldn’t leave me

What is my compass without a North Star

I will take this as a betrayal

I choose anger over devastation

Since you have the audacity to abandon me

I will have the intrepidity to continue

Walk the path we dreamed of

Achieve the heights you hoped for

I will make you so proud

You will regret leaving me

Among these commoners

Who lack the magic you took with you

When you rested

And I was obligated to lay you to rest