Shattered illusions

Found myself on the side of the road

Barefoot

In a house coat

A slow trickle of blood down my thigh

A reminder I picked you

Car stalled because of lack of petrol

The emotional decision to physically drive away

Thwarted by the practical need of gasoline

The abrupt decision

That manifested like a demon possession

The need to put distance

To anything that you have touched

Laughable when I realized

I cannot leave my skin behind

No matter how fast

Or how far

I drive

When someone has imprinted their fingerprint

On every aspect of you

Because you let them

It is not a matter of letting go

It is a matter of giving up

And an exorcism

My last request before my phone died

“Let us be amicable strangers

Who never cross each others paths.

Don’t sell me any more dreams

Peddle your snake oil elsewhere

The only currency I have left is my soul

You already took my pride and dignity

Discard this empty vessel,

It has nothing left for you”