I am one and twenty

………………………………….She is one and twenty

Over the hill, past my shelf life

………………………………….At her prime, ripe and luscious

A spinster due to my finicky ways

…………………………………A feisty swan among docile ducks

Maybe just a future inductee to the spinster circuit

………………………………..I have to earn her love, I need it!

To be pitied and propositioned

……………………………….I will offer her all my wealth, my life

Maybe become a kept woman

……………………………….My position, my rank, my heart

Maybe traded for rank and dowry

………………………………I will give up my crown if she will have me

Maybe forever chaste like the virgin queen, I shudder

………………………………She can have the world if she wants, will she have me?

Oh well, lets enjoy my twilight years, who knows

…………………………..She holds court in her glory days, so beautiful , ethereal

Maybe my phantom will sweep me off my feet one day

……………………………I will fight to call her mine someday

My childhood friend, standing companion

…………………………..The love of my life, my heart

Sometimes I wonder if I stand between him and love

…………………………Does she love me, would I make her happy

I dread the day a lass catches his fancy

………………………..I shudder to think someone else could make her happy

For then who would laugh with me? Hold me or dance with me?

………………..Another man touching, holding or even sit by her feet

Call me selfish but I need him free to be with me

…………I would have to leave, retire to the country for with this I cannot live

I will be brave though, if I lose him I will be brave

………………If she finds someone I will wish her well, and wish him death

What if he were he? What a twist that would be!

…………………Maybe go over her head and ask for her hand from her sire

Off we go again, a smile firmly on my face

……….. The world intrudes again, maybe tonight I can steal another dance

What is this? He won’t dance with me? I am upset

…………………………………..I cannot do it! Destiny has broken me

Phantom standing between him and me

…………..That eager expectation as she  looks for him in the crowd and not me

Since the masked ball he won’t touch me

………………………………………I went to her and she walked away from me

Will barely look at me at all

………………………………………….not looking back, walked away from me

Trembling at the sight of me

…………………………….It’s so hard, my body shakes from wanting thee

Is his broken heart taking him away from me?

…………………My heavy heart needs to get away from this

Or maybe find with whom I am meant to be?

